All 11 passengers dead as private Turkish jet crashes in Iran

A Turkish bride-to-be and ten of her friends who were returning to Istanbul from a bachelorette party in Dubai were killed when a Bombardier Challenger 604 business jet carrying them hit a mountain and burst into flames near Shahr-e Kord in southwestern Iran on Sunday night,  Iranian state television said citing an official. Mina Basaran, heiress of Basaran Holding which is active in the food, finance, energy, construction, tourism and travel industries,  was due to marry at the end of March. Mojtaba Khaledi, spokesman of Iran’s emergency management organisation, said local villagers reached the site in the Zagros Mountains and found 11 badly burned bodies in the wreckage. DNA tests would be needed to identify the dead, he said. The plane took off from Sharjah International Airport in UAE around 4.41 pm (1311 GMT; 9.11 a.m. EST) on Sunday and reached a cruising altitude of just over 35,000 feet, according to FlightRadar24, a flight-tracking website. Around 6.01 p.m. (1431 GMT; 10.31 a.m. EST), something appears to have gone wrong with the flight as it rapidly gained altitude and then dropped drastically within minutes, data published by the website showed. Shahr-e Kord is some 370 kilometres (230 miles) south of the Iranian capital, Tehran.